So here it goes…..

This is our story…told by us. A story that has a lot more to come and isn’t even close to an end. I’m starting this blog to chronicle our journey from farmers to gypsies to mountain folk and hopefully back to farmers.

For my husband and I farming is what drew us together..it was a farm that we met on and our first conversation was about our futures in farming. The thing is neither one of us grew up on a dairy farm. Actually if you asked our families about our lifestyle choices you would probably get an eye roll or “That’s just a tough life”, “It’s just so much time and work”….something along those lines.

We both grew up in areas with quite a few dairy farms and it just clicked for both of us..it was love at first sight I guess you could say. Just like when we met I suppose both of us just fall hard. As a child I remember loving Dorothea Lange pictures..oh how I yearned to be in that desperate lifestyle of the dust bowl farmers, why I’m not sure. I didn’t understand necessarily what the pictures meant but I knew I loved those strong farm women with nothing but somehow got by. It may sound strange but part of the love of farming is overcoming the unknown and unexpected and having faith and strength always.

We live our life now and it is a good life from day to day but there’s something missing and we both have decided to make the journey back to home. I’ve realized from all my moves over the years home isn’t where you grew up or where you live now, it’s where you feel safe and at peace. For us that’s side by side in a barn, watching the sun come up over a herd of cows ready to be milked.

So here we go….

We have decided to get back to what makes us feel safe and at peace. When we moved to Idaho we thought this would be our forever home and maybe it is. What I do know for now is that in the next year we will take every step we can to be back doing what we love. I have put it into the universe and we are going to devote everything we have to make it happen. This blog will chronicle our past, present and future adventures. My hope is whoever reads this gets a glimpse into our crazy, beautiful, sometimes happy and other times sad life and enjoys our journey with us.

It’s a pretty interesting story if I do say so myself.

Till the next time…

♡ the little farmers that could

Leave a comment